Veronica Batterson

I promised a second interview this week (after being distracted by life and missing last week) and here it is. Veronica Randolph Batterson, author of the juvenile fiction book ‘Billy’s First Dance’ is originally from Tennessee but now lives in the Windy City.

Veronica has several books either already published or in the works. Aside from ‘Billy’s First Dance’, she authored a short story, ‘Remembering Carlotta’ among other works.

IDI – Veronica, you have several books to your credit, but what are you working on now?

VB – Right now, I’m in the final proof stage of my next juvenile fiction book, ‘Funny Pages’. it’s about to be sent to the publisher and should be available by the end of the year. I’m rather superstitious about giving excerpts prior to publishing (I won’t walk under ladders either and I don’t like it when a black cat crosses my path), but I will say it is about a young girl growing up with her grandfather, who is a retired cartoonist. I am traveling to New Mexico soon to begin research for my third book.

IDI – Everyone has their own way of ‘beginning’ the process of writing a book. What’s yours?

VB – When writing, I always try to develop a rough outline first. It’s very rough, though, just to give myself a little direction. When the writing process begins, characters and plot develop as you go along. That’s part of the creative process and outlines do change sometimes.

IDI – Describe your most productive/inspiring setting.

VB – My most productive and inspiring time to write is in the morning using my computer. I have to be alone and I can’t have any distractions. Sometimes, I’ll listen to music as I write, but it has to be something mild and soothing (sometimes classical but always instrumental). It’s distracting to hear lyrics when I write.

IDI – What advice would you give to anyone new to the business of writing?

VB – My advice would be to keep your chin up and write for yourself. Never take rejection personally. Keep your mind open to advice and constructive criticism, but follow your own muse.

IDI – And what was the best advice that was ever given to you, and by whom?

VB – The best advice I got actually came from a book. In his memoir, ‘On Writing’, Stephen King said writers should “lose the adverbs”. He’s right. if you write well, adverbs are unnecessary words.

IDI – I come up with many ideas that cross over the lines of my usual genre. Do you have any such ideas wandering around and if so, what are your thoughts on ‘crossing over’?

VB – Right now, I write juvenile fiction. but, I love to read historical fiction. I do have ideas for other genres and have even started writing some of them. I have a mainstream novel started and ideas for a biography and a couple of plays.

IDI – What do you do when you’re not writing?

VB – When I’m not writing, I enjoy photography and being the proud pet owner of my golden retriever, Lily. I also enjoy going to the theater with my husband, visiting museums, antique stores and going horseback riding.

IDI – Your interests are quite similar to mine! When you read another writer, are you able to just read and enjoy or do you find yourself critiquing as you go. If so, what is the one mistake you most often find?

VB – Unfortunately, I critique. I can’t help it. It’s my proofreader background I suppose. Typos top the list of the things I find most in a book. Writers should proof and edit until ‘the cows come home’. It will pay off in the end and will look much more professional.

IDI – What do you find to be the hardest aspect of writing?

VB – The hardest part of writing for me is the marketing aspect. I just want to write. but, authors now need to be active with social media to get word out about their work. I promote on Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads, Jacketflap and Shewrites. I’m told I need to start a blog and I suppose I will eventually. Plus, I’m constantly contacting/visiting bookstores to push my book. It’s tough to balance all of it, while actually doing what you love.

IDI – Define a great book.

VB – In my opinion, a great book is one that hooks you from the beginning and holds you until the last page. You don’t wish to put it down. You can laugh, y ou can cry and you can feel the words in your heart; and when you finish there is a sense of fulfillment, yet sadness, because the words have come to an end.

IDI – I couldn’t agree more!

I would like to thank Veronica for joining me on Ink Drop Interviews and for sharing her week with Doug Dorow. If you would like to contact Veronica or purchase her books, please follow the links provided below.

http://www.amazon.com/Billys-First-Veronica-Randolph-Batterson/dp/0741459132/ref=sr_1_?ie=UTF8&qid=1311010719&sr=8-1

http://www.indiebound.org/hybrid?filter0=Billy’s+First+Dance&x=35&y=15

http://www.buybooksontheweb.com/product.aspx?ISBN=0-7414-5913-2

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/billys-first-dance-veronica-randolph-batterson/1021449563?ean=9780741459138&itm=1&usri=billy%2bs%2bfirst%2bdance

www.veronicabatterson.com

www.dewonthekudzu.net

www.muscadinelines.com

Interviews are conducted by Kathy Reinhart, author of 3 novels. Most recent works (‘Missouri in a Suitcase’ & ‘Lily White Lies’) can be sampled/purchased at Smashwords, Amazon/Kindle, B&N and many other online shops.

If you are a published author and looking for exposure, why not consider appearing on Ink Drop Interviews. Feel free to browse through the archives and if it’s something you’d like to do, contact me at ladybuggerly at hotmail dot com.

Follow me on Twitter: @kathyreinhart

Like me on Facebook: www.facebook.com/KathyReinhart.Novelist

Or try my not-so-finished website: www.kathyreinhart.com

Next week, join me for an interview with Patrick Martin

About K.E. Garvey

Gather 'round and let me tell you a story... View all posts by K.E. Garvey

Thoughts?

K.E. GARVEY

The Official Website

People We Know

They're more interesting than you think.

Diane Gallagher Photos

Photos taken around the world...

Damyanti Biswas

For lovers of reading, crime writing, crime fiction

Jean Lee's World

Author of Young Adult Fantasy

A Holistic Journey

Finding my way back out of motherhood -- while mothering

The Writersaurus

Adventures in Writing, Editing, and Publishing

davidjrogersftw

Starting life Fresh: Living to Win

Sarah Lea Stories

Where brevity is literary minimalism®

BookPeople

Howdy! We're the largest independent bookstore in Texas. This is our blog.

Book of words

Books, reviews and all things worth reading

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

The Misfortune Of Knowing

Books, Writing, & the Law

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Stroppy Editor

Minding other people’s language. A lot.

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

Drinkers with Writing Problems

Literature by the Lit Up

Guild Of Dreams

Build Your World and They Will Come

Ink Drop Interviews & Reviews

Personal Blog of Author K.E. Garvey

Women.Who.Write.

“Nothing stinks like a pile of unpublished writing.” – Sylvia Plath

Writer Unboxed

about the craft and business of fiction

Writers In The Storm

A Blog On Writing

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.