Don’t Go… by Lisa Scottoline

In trying to maintain my personal goal of 52 books read for the year, this week’s review is for Don’t Go, by New York Times best-selling author, Lisa Scottoline.

Don't Go

Don’t Go

Too often successful (and popular) authors reach a point where their books become formula. Jazz-up the characters, change the setting, but a couple of chapters in, the voices begin to sound like old friends. The heroine begins to sound too much like a heroine from a previous book with a name change. And although the plot may be a bit different, the twist at the end is predictable, because deep down, you know you’ve read something similar before and are subconsciously expecting it.

Lisa Scottoline has been entertaining us with her writing for a long time, certainly long enough to fall into the category of ‘burned out’ writer. But, she doesn’t. Don’t Go is as original as if it were her first novel. I’ve read many of her books and this one did not have that old familiar, recycled feel to it. As a matter of fact, by page 80-something, I thought I had it figured out. By page 190, I realized my initial guess was wrong, but now I knew where it was actually going. By the end, I realized I had been way off all the way through. She is a master at making the reader think it’s a pat story, a just-has-to end a certain way tale. But look out for the sharp turn up ahead!

**Spoiler

The story opens with Chloe’s death. Since I had not had time to know, like, or sympathize with her, I didn’t want to club the author over the head for killing off one of my favorite characters. I felt sorry for her and her situation and for those close to her, but at that point, only from a distance.

I thought her husband’s emotions rang true. He seemed to pass between them as anyone would, sometimes grappling with two at a time. When he learns the secret she took to her grave, he still acts as one would expect. Between what he has seen at war and what has happened on the home front it’s no wonder this guy didn’t go bonkers, so his often times erratic behavior can easily be explained and anticipated.

After Chloe’s death, her sister Danielle and brother-in-law Bob are all too happy to take care of Mike and Chloe’s infant daughter, Emily. And I do mean ‘all too happy’, which is probably why at page 80, I thought her sister was (at least in part) responsible for Chloe’s death. (It also didn’t help that in the first chapter, while Chloe was dying, she thought Danielle had entered the house only to leave without helping her) The author nudged us down a particular path through the characters and to me, that’s an example of the difference between an experienced writer and an amateur.

There were a few things that didn’t quite ring true, or weren’t necessary, or felt a bit contrived, but they did not take away from the story – at all. (Example: At the very end, Mike finds a half-empty bottle of his friend, Jim’s, brand of liquor among the things taken from the house after Chloe died proving that Jim had been there. Jim had already admitted to being there for an article and the man Chloe had the affair with had already been identified. Jim admits to trying to seduce Chloe, but she resists his advances. So, unless I missed something, I didn’t see what that added to the story).

I can’t say I’ve ever read a Scottoline book I haven’t enjoyed. There have been one or two that although good, didn’t keep me up all night reading. I was content to read until I was tired and continue in the morning. Don’t Go kept me up. It’s written in short chapters, which I prefer, and the pace was fast enough that it kept me turning, but not so fast as to leave my tired mind in the dust. The voices are distinct and the flow of the book is steady and comfortable. One thing I find many less experienced authors doing is filling their books with fluff. Unnecessary, unimportant, and uninteresting filler to bulk up a book. This novel had none of that. No need to skim long passages of narration, no lulls to bore. Nice and tight.

I only spotted two errors (I’m a stickler – can’t help it), which isn’t bad considering how many some books have. I list them so in the event the author or her editor sees this, they can be fixed in the Kindle edition. (I have the hardcover)

  1. Page 189 – 1st Mike felt the his love for Chloe coming back. (Remove the word ‘the’)
  2. Page 273 – Line 19. The last thing you want is a thirteen-year-old running before he’s not healed. (Remove the word ‘not’)

I’ve read a number of mediocre books lately and this was a nice change from that. A solid read and a firm 4.5 stars. Highly recommended. Check it out here.

Next review – Sweet Salt Air by Barbara Delinsky

Ink Drop Interviews was created and is maintained by K.E. Garvey, author of the award-winning Lily White Lies (using the pen name Kathy Reinhart) & Cry Like A Girl

Lily White Lies

Lily White Lies

About K.E. Garvey

Gather 'round and let me tell you a story... View all posts by K.E. Garvey

Thoughts?

K.E. GARVEY

The Official Website

People We Know

They're more interesting than you think.

Diane Gallagher Photos

Photos taken around the world...

Damyanti Biswas

For lovers of reading, crime writing, crime fiction

Jean Lee's World

Author of Young Adult Fantasy

A Holistic Journey

Finding my way back out of motherhood -- while mothering

The Writersaurus

Adventures in Writing, Editing, and Publishing

davidjrogersftw

Starting life Fresh: Living to Win

Sarah Lea Stories

Where brevity is literary minimalism®

BookPeople

Howdy! We're the largest independent bookstore in Texas. This is our blog.

Book of words

Books, reviews and all things worth reading

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

The Misfortune Of Knowing

Books, Writing, & the Law

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Stroppy Editor

Minding other people’s language. A lot.

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

Drinkers with Writing Problems

Literature by the Lit Up

Guild Of Dreams

Build Your World and They Will Come

Ink Drop Interviews & Reviews

Personal Blog of Author K.E. Garvey

Women.Who.Write.

“Nothing stinks like a pile of unpublished writing.” – Sylvia Plath

Writer Unboxed

about the craft and business of fiction

Writers In The Storm

A Blog On Writing

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.